Trying to create a 3D Trapezoid with a Curve

Hi. I’m new to SketchUp Make and struggling to model a woodworking part that starts flat, then one end gets steam bent 90 degrees. The part starts out looks looking like this:

Length: 12.5"
Width: 1.75" on one end; 0.5" on the other (equal angles on both sides)
Thickness: 0.375"

The narrow end gets bent to 90 degrees with a 6" outside diameter (3" radius).

I’m only interested in modeling the finished part, but can’t figure out how to do it. Any help/guidance would be appreciated.

Or something like this, to many possibilities to guess.

2 Likes

Hi Kevin,

You could model the bent shape without the taper.
Then, use two temporary faces as cutting planes to create the taper.

See this model for ideas…
Tapered Radius.skp (110.7 KB)

Box, you’ve accurately captured the concept of what I’m trying to accomplish and your tutorial makes it look so simple. I’m obviously missing something because when I use the rotate tool the whole group rotates. I must be misunderstanding your comments.

Dave,
Yes the rendering of the bent part looks like what I’m trying to achieve. I’m a SketchUp newbee and really struggling with this one. Thanks.

He’s using an extension, not the Rotate Tool! I think it is Fredo6’s FredoScale-Radial Bending.

2 Likes

Thanks for the tip. I haven’t used any Extensions yet, didn’t even know what thy were. Like I said, I’m new here.

So the next question is, when I try to download an Extension I receive the message, “One moment please…” The window then goes grey and freezes indefinitely. Why?

You can do it without an extension. I can describe the method, with pictures, but not an animation like Box.

Start by drawing a cross section. Use the rectangle tool and the Arc tools to get this, after deleting the extra cross lines at the ends of the arcs:

Push pull it to HALF the maximum width (7/8").

Make it a component, and open it for editing in Xray view (View/Face Style/X-ray)