Trouble healing geometry

Hi Sketchers!

Newbie here, working on my first model (my house, in preparation for a porch project next year).

I’ve been learning as I go with good success, but have now run into a small issue that I just can’t wrap my head around. For whatever reason, I can’t heal the geometry into a coherent plane on the front side of my small front porch. If I erase the redundant line seen in the screenshot, the entire plane is erased. I’ve tried rebuilding my geometry from scratch a couple of times, but I end up with the same problem regardless. Probably a simple mistake somewhere, but I’m at my wit’s end.

If anyone of you more experienced modellers would have time to take a look at this and shed some light, I’d be very grateful.

Thanks!
Erik

Klockargarden_p.skp (942.7 KB)

A couple of things:
There were lines over lines over faces. When you tried a few times, you didn’t completely erase the old stuff, so new stuff still made the same mistakes.

Nothing has any “thickness”; while it doesn’t really matter if you are not going to see the internals, it is much easier to “push/pull” surfaces rather than move lines.

Groups are your friends. Put something into a group and you can still snap to the geometry, but it won’t attach.

Things that you are going to mirror or duplicate, make components - then you change one and the other changes.

How did you create the shape in the first place? There are at least 10 different ways I can think on to make that shape.

Klockargarden_q.skp (768.7 KB)

1 Like

Many thanks for your help gadget!

I will try to replicate your solution on my own file and see if I can learn from that. I will pay attention to lines over lines and try to see where I went wrong.