Trimming Solid Objects

I am fairly new to SketchUp Pro, using it only for fun and hobby. My operating system is Windows 7 and my version of SketchUp Pro is 2020.

I have been trying to trim an object in SketchUp Pro without any luck. I cannot use the Solids Tools because I am advised that one of the objects is not a solid. That being the case I searched the internet and found, ‘ADSU Video 0301: Trimming solid objects (Chapter 3), by Alexander Schreyer’, and this appeared to do what I wanted done.

However, when it came to deleting the material on the object, it just left a mess. What am I doing wrong, or how can I accomplish what I am trying to do?

JohnMTB

Hard to say from just a screenshot. Can you share your model skp file here and describe more fully the steps you took?

Edit: I see you just joined the forum. You may need to make a few more posts before the forum will let you upload a file.

If you extrude the cutting face into a block with Push/Pull and make it a group, and assuming that the hand rail is a solid group or component, the Solid Tools should work for you.

Upload the file if you can for specific help. Here is some info on using intersect to trim.

Slbaumgartner,

Thank you for the information. I will think of a few simple questions to ask.

Regards,

john

image001.jpg

As I mentioned, I cannot use the Solids Tools because I am advised that one of the objects is not a solid.

I will try to upload my file with this posting.

JohnMTB
Staircase - Handrail.skp (2.3 MB)

Very clearly in your screen shot the face you’ve drawn for the cut can’t be solid. A solid must be 3D.

The rail is not a solid group either.

The railing geometry also has other issues due to the way it was modeled.

I also notice you are using layers incorrectly. Layer 0 (Untagged in SU2020) should ALWAYS be the active one and all edges and faces should remain untagged. The pencil icon should always be set to Layer 0/Untagged.