STill trying to put letters on a fuselage

I had been trying to put lettering on an airplane and gave up a few months ago. But I thought the break could have been fruitful. So I created a cylinder, then typed my name as 3D text, after which I plced the word on the cylinder and push pulled the letters thinking I could delete everything outside of the cylinder, leaving the word fitted to the curvature, then I would paint it and be done. But I am stuck …please see my SKP. Is there anyone who can demystify this quandary? I appreciate all of you who have tried to show me things on sketchup, I am a newbie at best, but trying to learn the ropes. Thankyou.ROBBIE-SKP.skp (240.9 KB)

1 Like

Like this?

Select the surface of the cylinder, right click on it and choose Intersect Faces>With Model. Hide or delete the text component and the letters should be there.

It would make life easier if you drew out the circle on axis and square to the axis plane instead of at some random angle.

Thankyou Dave…Looks like it worked…Here is how it came out…Inside the “B” one of the holes is darker and I don’t know why, also, should I have painted the letters first, or can I do that later? Thanks again for your help.

RobbieROBBIE-SKP-2.skp (268.5 KB)

Probably didn’t get a complete interesection. You might need to trace an edge segment with the Line tool.

If I do that, can I then apply paint? Thx

Yes. You should be able to apply materials to any faces/surfaces.

I will try that. Thanks for taking the time to expose the technique to me! R

Dave…I’s SO close…Threw a few letters on the plane design, but when I try to remove whatever is protruding, I tend to remove parts of the base of the “keep” part of the letters. Haven’t tried to color them yet, but with your help I sure am getting close! thx, ~R~ROBBIE-skp-3.skp (6.7 MB)

You’re not working in the correct context, you need to be using the geometry of the fuselage to intersect with the lettering.