Cutout letters on curved surface

I’d like to make something like the photo below in Sketchup 2015 using my own text. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks!

I can think of several approaches. How much experience do you have using SketchUp?

Use 3D Text like a cookie cutter. That is, extrude the 3D text long enough to penetrate the dome, position the extrusion where you want to cut the dome and use the Intersect Faces command to do the cutting.

-Gully

I have some experience with Sketchup and probably would say I’m somewhere between a novice and intermediate user. Thanks for taking the time to reply.

I think I’ve tried this, but will give it another go. I seem to stumble after performing the intersection not knowing what to do next. Maybe you can provide a hint or two??? Thanks for your help!

Once you have intersected the geometry, select and delete the parts you don’t want.

I believe I’ve found one of my errors. It seems I have to be sure the original dome and the text I want to insert are both solids.

Here you go:

-Gully

Not really.

-G

Yes, thanks! I’ve followed these steps and am in the process of removing the unwanted geometry. For the most part it’s working well although there are a few places where too much is removed when I click on it. I’ll have to see if I can find where there are missing connections.

Thanks to all for the help! Below is what I was able to accomplish this evening. I think it’s going to work for me.

1 Like

The reason your dome looks so facety is you have softened it but not smoothed it. Observe in the following, unsmoothed then smoothed.

-Gully

I was wondering what the Smooth command was as my what was drawn as round came out poly sided in the 3 D print . . Will try it and see what it looks like with next item