Soften Edges in Large Terrain

Hi All

Hope somebody might be able to help me. I am a newbie to SU but have 20 years experience in modeling.

I am creating a golf course from a DWG file. My workflow is

Import DWG
Explode
Select Contours
Using TOPO Shaper create terrain at 3m intervals (takes bout 60 minutes)
Add Terrain to its own layer (tag)
Select all terrain shapes (greens, bunkers etc) in the DWG and Copy.
Open the terrain layer (group)
Paste in place
Drape (takes about 60 minutes)
Add material to each draped face.

So this all works very nicely and i get good results. My issue is that i am seeing some sharp edges in the terrain that when rendered look very artificial, a golf course shoud be nice a smooth. I have tried all maner of smoothing but with no avail. I have Artisan but whn i use that for smoothing it destroys the shapes of each feature.

Before using the Drape command, round (smooth contours) the desired areas

glg-03

2 Likes

Thanks, will try that. I should have said, that the terrain looks good before I drape

I am afraid that did not work

Can you post your model so folks can see what’s you’re working with. If it’s too big then copy a problematic section, one green or sand trap into a fresh file and post that, with the contours and terrain before draping included.

Hi endlessfix.

Thank you for the reply. Here is a 1 hole sample. Made the same way as my original post.Golf Test.skp (4.3 MB)

You can see the the bad shading in this image

And here rendered

I haven’t used artisan for a few years, but doesn’t it have a sculpting brush option that will soften/smooth very specific areas.

I’d say this is part of your problem. 3m is quite a large grid.