Skewed stl files

I have been using Sketchup for several years and never had this problem. I export an stl file, and it gets rotated. No matter what I do, the same thing happens again and again.

When I am done editing my model, and I’m ready to export an stl, it looks like this:

I export the stl, then re-import it, and it looks like this:

It remains like that when I open it in Meshcam to create my g-code.

I’ve tried everything, including rebooting my computer. I cut and paste the model into a new Sketchup window, I import the stl, edit again to straighten it, nothing works.
Its always about 2.4 degrees off on the Z axis, and .3 degrees off on Y.

Can you post the model? Have you repositioned the axis?

WingBottomRight.skp (286.4 KB)
I’ve been using Sketchup 2017, and tried it in the online version. Same results.

And yes, I tried playing around with the axes. Nothing fixes it.

In the original SU file, your axes are significantly displaced and rotated.

In that model, R-click on any axis, and choose Reset.

That will straighten things out.

After axis reset:

Move the corner to the origin, then rotate the model to align a long edge with the red axis.

The lower front long edge is also not parallel to the red axis, either, after I rotate it round the Blue axis, and the component’s axes aren’t parallel to the edges either.

Here’s a fixed version saved back to v2017.
WingBottomRight fixed SU 2017.skp (239.7 KB)
WingBottomRight fixed.stl (43.6 KB)
That imports correctly oriented and on the origin.

3 Likes

OK thanks. That works. I’m just mystified as to why it happened in the first place, and to multiple models.

Check whether the template you use to start a new file has got “Reset axes” greyed out. If it hasn’t, R-click/Reset to fix them, re-save the template, and check any existing files based on that template.

As to how it happened, maybe you accidentally R-clicked intending to change a component’s axes, but Placed the model axes instead?

2 Likes