Sketchup/Twilight - rendering results in photographic negative

Hi Brain’s Trust … hoping you can help (and please use small words and very clear step-by-step instructions as I am still new to Sketchup.

During the rendering of my shop model the light and shadow appears to have inverted (like a negative of a photograph). I have made a shop model before without this issue.

All light are switched on (checked all 30-odd individually) with the attenuation being an “inverse square” (standard setting). I have tried adjusting the light size/energyattenuation with no affect.

When I process the model to the Twilight render program the initial view shows the internal lights are how I want them … but once the Twilight program runs it renders black/shadow where light should be (screenshot) - and light where there should be shadow. Just like a photograph negative. Obviously I’ve “inverted” my “rendering light” somewhere but no idea where/what/when

I have tried different clarity options - have googled my freckle off - peered into every tool option I think might make a difference - and still no change. Help! I am sure the answer is something very simple.

I am using the Student Pro 2018 program

Here’s a screenshot of how the image looks when it initially uploads into Twilight - and how I want it to looks when rendered

Is face orientation correct in the model? Show us a some screen shots of the SU model with face style set to Monochrome.

Or better, upload the SKP file to drop box and share the link so we can examine it.

Hi Dave

Below is the screen shot of the SU model … I’m very new, so I’ll google on “face style” and see if I can work out if something there is what happened. If not success then I’ll upload it to the dropbox.

I did check that all my internal walls/floor/ceiling were correctly facing

View>Face Style>Monochrome

Providing the model would give us a whole lot more info and make it much faster to help you.

1 Like