SketchUp Pro 3-D to Illustrator CC

I am new to this and have dabbled on and off with SketchUp Make. I learned from Make to Illustrator CC on a PC does not come in clean and graphics like circles come in jagged and gradients are not smooth, but broken in sections of shadings. I am looking to make an investment in Pro because I heard that it has export capability to Illustrator (.eps) - how do the graphics appear and does it come in clean showing clean gradiations and no breaks? I need to know if this really works otherwise it serves no other use if it cannot be used in Illustrator. I would love to see examples that are posted so I can see for myself if this really works or not. Once I know that answer, then I can move forward with setting up training in SketchUp Pro. I greatly appreciate your time, thank you!

Hello! You can export DWG for Illustrator but it doesn’t export faces, so you have to use the Live Paint in Illustrator to manually rebuild shapes (which also automatically joins broken edges). EPS export supports faces but you won’t get true curves. If I have to smooth contours, I normally use the “Simplify” command in Illustrator.
You can see the difference here. The left one is the raw geometry imported from SketchUp and modified with the Live Paint tool. You can see the curve is not smooth. The right one is the same geometry but its curves are simplified.

1 Like