Sketchup Pro 2018 - Unexpected file format

To All,

I am having an issue opening my file. It was working fine yesterday but when i tried to open it today it comes with message

“Unexpected File Format.”

I am a university student and have spent sever of hours work on this submission which is due very soon any help would be much appreciated!

If anyone could take a look the link to file here on google drive (01 Entire project.skp 104mb).

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1tccljJg_25UP4-2GgIbyXC3CrTDGa0Zy

Similar issue to:

Sketchup didn’t provided me with a backup (skb file) so I couldn’t try the method of changing file name extension.

Using windows 10 64 bit, Sketchup Pro 2018 (trial)

Any help would be much appreciated to getting this file working, Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Krystal

Hi,

I’m sorry to say that you’re file doesn’t open on my computer either.

I’ve looked through the other thread in an attempt to learn something about this… and have had a small bit of success in trying to open this file via the ruby command line.

I don’t imagine that what I have is too useful here since the file size is anemic compared to what you’ve uploaded onto your google drive.

What does show up are a few initial components,… which unfortunately don’t appear refined enough to match what’s shown in the file preview picture.

But for what it’s worth, this is what I have so far… Entire Project Test (JD Alt).skp (241.3 KB)

I’ll keep trying here. maybe I can improve upon things.

And perhaps since I’ve made some progress, there’s a chance that others around here—who are more experienced at this sort of recovery stuff—can get even better results.

Question:

When is your project due?

1 Like

Thanks JimD,

Thanks for trying to help me out and sharing your story, providing some light in this very dark tunnel.

Unfortunately the file you uploaded wasn’t able to recover much but appreciated for your help.

It is due on the 15th this coming Friday.

Regards,
Krystal