SketchUp, but when you're just not into houses

Hello. I’m new to 3D CAD and 3D rendering. This is my model of a U.S. Army M1A2 SEPv2 Abrams tank.

The tank is modeled in SketchUp Pro 2022 and rendered in V-Ray 6. Sometimes I use Photoshop’s Auto Contrast tool on the finished render, but no other post work is applied.

The emphasis on this model is accuracy. I can’t create the beautiful renders of you experienced guys and it takes me forever to do just about anything as I fumble my way through this, but dimensionally and shape-wise I believe this to be one of the most accurate Abrams models outside General Dynamic’s engineering office! (I put in a LOT of work getting that stuff right…)

A VFX professional friend of mine once asked me to send him the .obj (?) file of this. When I did he literally rotfl because it’s so bad. The earliest parts of the drawing are ludicrously high resolution, because I didn’t want circles that looked like stop signs, so I maxed the segments on everything. The main gun tube, for instance, is approximately five terabytes… xD

Thanks for reading. :slight_smile:

12 Likes
Off topic (please do not consider as offense.)

Technically I’m amazed.

Morally: Why don’t you put in a LOT of work getting that stuff even better e.g. a food processing machine…instead.
:peace_symbol:

3 Likes

impressive but…

wait what ?

how did you end up with a 5Tb file for the gun barrel exactly ?
I enjoy modelling stuff just for the sake of modelling, with various resolution, but how ?

A few years ago they built a startup campus near me, 11 000 m2 on 7Ha
The complete BIM files represented less than 5Tb. pretty sure it was about 4.

They were using revi…archicad ? using dedicated servers to store it all and to allow easy access, the very first thing they did on site was to pull the fiber to the on-site offices.
You mean to tell me that in sketchup you made a file containing a 5Tb gun barrel ??

I may have exaggerated the file size a little. :smile:

2 Likes