Sketchup and Point Cloud Workflow

I recently got a Lecia BLK360 3D scanner and started incorporating Point Clouds into my workflow.

Since I am new to using point clouds in Sketchup, I wonder what everyone’s workflow is?

I think my workflow can be refined to make it more efficient?
Mine so far is:

1. Register in cyclone Register BLK
  2. Bring into CloudCompare to clean up and isolate buildings trees, and remove unwanted plus remesh the existing site ground/topography
  3. Load into Sketchup and model proposed landscape elements elements
  4. Load into Layout to create the presentation documents
  5. Export to Draftsight (knock off of ACAD LT) to create the final construction documents

I look forward to learning about your workflows.

Apologies in advance for the length of this post, but I promised the OP that I would detail my point cloud workflow for a straightforward project. The reason I use points clouds is partly to help create visuals, but mainly because their accuracy enables us to create structural glass extensions that must fit snugly against elevations that are often a long way off square, such as very old cottages that have walls which can be literally 150mm off vertical over a typical 2.5M height. A quick laser scan allows me to detail the large glass panels that fit these uneven elevations accurately, and helps me to create the visuals. I can honestly say we haven’t had a single glass panel that didn’t fit perfectly since we started using digital surveys about 4 years ago.

1: I usually scan a client’s property on my first visit using our Faro 3D Laser Scanner to capture the buildings current ‘as built’ condition, even though part of what I am scanning will usually be replaced.