Several questions about using photos from a newbie

Hi, I am not a total newbie as I did use SketchUp about eight to ten years ago. I measured and recreated my house but never got past basic stuff.

I have done a search both here and google but to no avail. I want to model a mobile home park my employer owns. He also owns two houses in some a joining property. I know how to use google earth and google maps to import the terrain I need.

I am lazy though. I don’t want to go out a measure everything and some things I can’t (too high). Is it possible to take a photo and get the height of one object if the photo has something in it with a known height? For example I have a light pole next to a shed and a tree next to another shed. Can I get the height of the pole since I know the height of the shed?

Along the same thought, can I make models and photos the same scale so that if I know the distance between two sheds I can find the size and distance of other things in the photo?

Thank you in advance

edited for grammar and spelling

You might be able to do that. Exactly how depends a great deal on the photograph. It might be possible to use Match Photo if there are good lines running off to two vanishing points on the horizon. Another possible option would be to import the image as an image, scale it as needed so the shed is the proper height and then use the photo to pick other dimensions. This works better if the photo is taken at enough of a distance that you don’t have an apparent vanishing point in the sky. Usually, too, it will only work for dimensions in one direction unless you’ve made the photograph from a straight on view.

I use this latter method frequently for making models of antique furniture but it’s usually easier to get those straight on views. Still, it might be a useful method for you with the right photos.

1 Like