Section Tool In Sketchup - It Needs Improvement With Depth Clipping

Hi All,

I’ve been using Sketchup for 5 years for large scale Scaffold Design and although it is excellent and I love it, it drives me crazy how hard it is to do sectioning, particularly when transferring into Layout to put together design documentation. It has hindered me for years and stopped me from switching to Sketchup for all of my design work as I will often favour going back to 2D CAD instead purely because of the sectioning. I may need 10+ sections from a model and I find it very confusing trying to get them all into one model without making duplicates of model areas specifically to create a new section.

I also use Revit most days for reviewing structural models and Revit has an exceptional Sectioning tool. You go to a plan view, draw your section line wherever needed, it then gives a depth clipping box which you can set to a narrow slither or a deep section if required. You can then EASILY call these 2D sections up in your sheet displays. Unlike Sketchup that has this weird one section at a time rule, showing full depth of the model, unless you start sectioning within groups, which is very messy when I have lots of intricate sections that I want to detail within Layout.

Have I missed something with sectioning? Am I doing it wrong? Is there an add-on in the extension warehouse? Do others agree?! People who have used Revit will surely fully agree with me here.

If Sketchup could add clipping depth to the section tool and allow multiple sections without strange grouping restrictions, I would probably switch to it full time for my design work.