Request for 2023+ : weird translations (french at least)

Hi there.
This is a direct copy of a message I sent to SU contact earlier. Tim answered me that it would be good to post it here as well, as engineers and product managers come by and read stuff.
——

I’ve been using SU since 2007, teaching it since 2016 (but ver. 2013), and there is something that has been bugging me.
Over the years, and the versions, I’ve seen some weird french translations, but this one (on mac at least, I don’t have my PC woth me rn) is problematic.
The “extension” menu is translated into “prolongement”, an adverb a noun (you muppet!) meaning “an elongation, a longer one”. Like an extension of a road or a bridge.

sketchup

There is a french word for extension in the way SU means it. it’s… “extension”. It’s actually a regular french translation for things like plug-ins and add-ons. And it’s not even a word we borrowed from english. It comes from latin extensio. French took it and passed it to the brits. So you’re translating a french word into another french word that doesn’t convey the same meaning.

So,
With SU 2023, could we have a return of the “extension” menu please ?

I added two similar issues I spotted, one in 3d warehouse (still mentioning layers - or calques - instead of tags - balises) and buttons too short for translations in layout (on PC it’s worse, reset all - tout réinitialiser - appears as “tout” so “all”. REALLY confusing to people not used to the software.)

I hope my two cents can help. It might actually be good to have an official thread on the forums for people to spot and report translation mistakes as 2023 comes up, don’t you think ? I’m sure that even though the translating system is good, small things like this may slip in every languages, and we , users, can help on this issue.

Cheers,
Nab.

———

Before anyone asks, yes, I was partly inspired by this post about Russian translation missing several words