Replacing model parts with a Component

Hi to all, I’m pretty new to Sketchup modeling.

So my story, I have modeled a Tree it’s in obj format. Converted to .skp using Deep Exploration.

To make it Low Poly, the foliage concist of pretty big intersected faces and when I’m rendering I’m getting this black spots. it’s to dense for the light to go through, but I don’t want to increase lights.

What I’m trying to do, is to replace this parts with another ones and make all of them same component copies.
I mean I’m gonna draw a new component similar to those foliage but more optimized.

My question:

is it any solution that I can replace all existing foliage parts with my new foliage component?

more automatically, not deleting and copy my new component and placing it manually.

Thanks a lot!

select all you want to replace, then Right click the new one in Component Browser, you should see an option to replace all with component…

john

1 Like

Thank you John!

I’ve tried the method.
It’s ok but guess only when you already have the old foliage as Components.

In my model because it was modeled in another software and converted/imported all the foliage consist from many similar leafs that are not components.

The tree consists from:

1. Foliage (all parts are not componts) and consists from many leaf like #3 bellow
    2.Trunk
  2. Leaf, it’s a component

So when I right click on my new component in menu, I see only Select Instances:

And when I click Select Instances, only my new component #3 is selected :slight_smile:

PS the new component leaf has smaller faces, more polygons so i need to replace old big faces leafs to make place for the light to go through easier.