Repeatedly Telling me to Update to a New Version


#1

I’ve been having this problem for some time now…

I go to open a project in SketchUp Make 14 and I get the message that there is a new version of SketchUp Make 14 available and forces me to go through the download and install process before I am able to work again… even though the new download is the exact same version previously installed.

Help.

I’m on my own MacBook Pro logged in as the admin.

Thank you.


#2

What version does the About dialog report?
Any chance that the installer download has been cached by the browser and you’re getting the old installer?


#3


#4

@Tommy - heard of this before?


#5

This may be related to a similar issue that we’ve heard about a few times. Nothing that we could replicate in house, though. @pazzmore, do you still get the prompt when you select SketchUp > Preferences > General > uncheck Automatically check for updates?


#6

I’ll make the change and report back. It often takes a day or so before it demands the download.


#7

Changing that setting did not work. Same results.


#8

May have just found something. It seems that if I run the program first, before double clicking on a file, it seems to function without the download demand.

If Sketchup isn’t running, and I double click a file, the message pops up after the program has started and opened that particular file.


My Sketchup Pro 2014 for Mac won't run unless I upgrade