Rendering in sketchup 2017 maxes out CPU but not GPU

Hi,

How’s it going? There’s a user at our business that has a intel hd 630 graphics card in his laptop, when he tries to render something it maxes out the CPU but the GPU is barely used.

Is this normal? Can you force Sketchup to use the GPU on board? I’m new to Sketchup so I’m trying to figure this out.

If there are any settings that need to be tweaked can someone please let me know. Any help would be most appreciated :slight_smile:

Cheers

I think it will depend on the renderer being used, for example, THEA can render with either or both CPU/GPU in the settings.
You should try to get the renderer info so that someone familiar with that could help.

Ahh ok, so the renderer is the sketchup plugin., Renderin3 from the website. Does that help?

Yes I see the render engine you are using. Unfortunately I am not familiar with that one and I trust you have tried their forum as I think they would better be suited to help. But there may be someone here that is familiar with it.

Their system requirements say that you need:

3D class Video Card with 1GB of memory or higher. Please ensure that the video card driver supports OpenGL version 1.5 or higher and up to date.

https://renderin.com/online-help/system-requirements/

It may be that the laptop you are using does not have a graphics card that has those specs and as such it will not do anything for the rendering but leave the CPU to do the work. Many renderers make use of the GPU for speed. It may be worth checking the specs of the graphics card and maybe upgrading it?

If you do have a card with these specs and its not working its always good to check yo have the latest drivers installed too.