Recommended Book for SketchUp Starter

Hi, I am an Interior Design student and I am trying to self learn SketchUp. I was browzing through the Learning resources of books and I found many books for interior design. Since I am a college student, i won’t be able to afford all, so i was wondering if you could recommend which book would be the most helpful in teaching me how to use SketchUp. My knowledge for SketchUp is 0, which means I have whatsoever no familiarity with the program. I am looking for a book that could start with the basics and move on to big projects, also hopefully to the stage of 3D rendering them. I would be very much obliged if you could help me. Thank you very much.

Hey there! Welcome to the forums. I’m a Design student too, getting my degree in a couple of months. Congrats on choosing SketchUp, you won’t regret it. If your faculty is more or less similar to mine, you’ll go far with it.

I’ve been using SketchUp for about 6 years and I learned it by myself as well. It’s fairly easy if you keep playing with it and use it all the time. I personally haven’t used any books, only YouTube. If you’re ok with video tutorials, I can advise you to watch this “Getting Started with SketchUp” video, which is one of my personal favourites. Also, you can search YouTube for other lessons yourself.

For rendering, I’d suggest V-Ray, which is arguably the best one on the market. Here’s their gallery: V-Ray SketchUp Gallery. It takes time to learn but the results are usually fantastic.
Corona Renderer is also planning to release a SketchUp-compatible plugin. Here’s Corona’s gallery: Corona Renderer Gallery. There are some free rendering softwares out there too but I’d suggest mastering SketchUp and 3D modeling first, then thinking about the actual rendering.
Also, you can come back to these forums and ask for help. Best of luck! :slight_smile:

1 Like