Book recommendation

I just purchased Sketchup Pro 2016 and need guidance on workflow. I am a builder and re-modeler, so whatever resource I choose needs to be specific to that industry.

The Sketchup Workflow for Architecture by Michael Brightman looks like a good book, but it looks like it was published in 2013, and I was hoping to find something that reflected the advances in the program since then.

Any suggestions, both in print and on-line, would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the forums! There are many resources available for SketchUp, some are more advanced than others. Without knowing a bit more about your skill level, it is impossible to make any solid recommendations. How long have you been using SketchUp and can you share a few examples of your work? Finally, if you can be a bit more specific about what you need from SketchUp, it would be much easier to make recommendations.

Thanks for the welcome!

I have just started using Sketchup, so consider me a beginner. I can draw lines and arcs, extrude, truncate, mirror, group and explode, apply textures, and various other basic operations. I have intermediate proficiency in 2-D CAD.

Right now I work exclusively in residential. I do some new construction, but mostly re-modelling, which entails removing structural walls, adding on to existing structures, spec-ing cabinets and other fixtures, and building free-standing structures.

I need to be able to generate 2-D plans for the purpose of obtaining building permits and communicating with my subs, and need to provide 3-D to show clients and subs what the finished project will look like. I want to avoid jumping from program to program and duplicating effort.