Recommendations for Organizing SketchUp Files, Textures, Components, Libraries, etc

Anyone have any suggestions for how to organize their SketchUp related files?

I’ve always just saved whatever I’m working on in the Desktop, then when I’m done created a folder for that project and stuck everything related to the project into it, then eventually I move the folder into some other folder and don’t think about it until I need it next at which point I find it through Finder.

I recently got a texture library with a TON of textures in it that I’m going to want ongoing easy access to and I’m thinking it’s probably a good time to rethink how I’ve been saving my models as well.

30%20AM

Do people normally store this stuff in the user library? I feel like I have a SketchUp component library somewhere too, but I have no idea where it’s located.

Looking for best practices and recommendations from anyone interested in sharing!

For the projects I do for clients, I have a master folder with the client’s name. Then I create sub-folders for each project. When I make the first save of the SketchUp file for a new project, I create a new folder in the client’s directory. Any supporting files such as spreadsheets, images, and text files get saved to that folder as well. Then, when I create the LayOut project, it automatically gets saved into the same folder. No moving files after they’ve been created so no risk of breaking links to references.

As for textures and components used in models, they go into sub folders in the appropriate Materials or Components folder in the user application support folder so they are available for future projects. I don’t want to have to remember which project I last used that component or texture in. The sub-folders for components and materials are named by the kinds of things they contain, i.e. Hinges, Knobs, Cherry, Teak, or White Oak.

4 Likes