Quit My Job, Need a $1000 Laptop Recommendation :)

Hi all,

I’ve combed through the forums for a few days and need your advice.

I quit my job in NYC after 8 years to go full time freelance! I’m a designer: architectural and interior and have a steady lineup of freelance work.

I only have $1000 dollars to spend right now on a decent laptop. Are the Dell gaming laptops the best options for under $1000?

I only use AutoCAD, Sketchup Pro, VRay and Photoshop. That’s it. If I need to I can render in various render farms in the cloud.

I need 15 inch screen and something I won’t have to replace next year. Weight isn’t a huge issue as it will normally sit on a table, but I am travelling a bit and need something I can take with me…

Any help is greatly appreciated…

–Jessica

Hi,

Dell still has a good reputation, and if you make a purchase through them for a refurbished laptop, then I think you’ll have some nice options to pick from.

CPU speed, Memory, and a dedicated Graphics Card are the key features here.

For search purposes… I would focus primarily on finding a laptop with a dedicated graphics card… and you want to buy an Nvidia model graphics card since they have far better driver support, compared to the AMD cards.

Generally speaking a computer that includes a dedicated graphics card will also have a fairly decent CPU, and Memory Specs to follow suit… But of course you should double check that, and not just assume it’s an automatic thing.

16GB of RAM would be nice.

For the CPU, look for the intel series… and get as fast as you can. i7 series (nice), i5 series (decent).

Last time I looked at this the prices of laptops which started to include dedicated graphics they were about $750 or so.

Post up a screen capture of what you find, if you’d like, and you’ll get some nice feedback from the forum here.

Ok that is in line with what I’ve been researching so thank you!

Do you think there is much of a difference between these two computers?