Push pull tool stopped working

Suddenly in the middle of drawing a project the Push pull tool wont work. I was using it one minute, then, nothing. . . . strange. Any clues anybody please’

Can you share the model so we can see what you’re trying to use Push/Pull on? The typical situation when users make this kind of statement is that they 've made a group or component of the geometry and don’t have it open for editing when trying to use Push/Pull. Or they are trying to use the tool where no face exists or they are trying to use it on a surfaces that is divided into more than one face.

Hi Dave. Thanks for reply. I know what you mean about components etc but as I am not good at that I havent knowingly made groups or components. Just been trying again and I think maybe some of my rectangles were not properly closed. I attach the model. Thanks (I am getting “error” while trying to attach model, so dont know how it will arrive). Nope - no way can I attach it. Sorry

How were you trying to attach your model? You should use the upload button on the message editor

There is a file size limit on this forum, but otherwise it ought to work.

Hey, I just ran into the same problem. Only on my model some places it will work, but other places it will work. What really gets me is the line that comes up saying, “Push/pull cannot be used on a straight or curved line”.

If there was a way for me to group them together and the push/pull them I would; but c’mon push/pull is one of the most basic operations there is, period.

I cannot send a pic. because the model is way too big.

Push/pull can only be used on a face (single face, not a smoothened curved surface)

Anssi

It actually says Curved or Smoothed surfaces.
If you turn on hidden geometry you will see why, there will be lines subdividing the face you want to P/P

I turned on “Hidden geometry” and their are "lines with breaks’ there. Do I need to erase them?

Ah, those are lines that I have hidden.