Please make LayOut text Label tool report on more information

This is split from another thread :

"[quote=“gsharp, post:12, topic:156863”]
Maybe if you made the floor area a component in SU you could extract the area, material etc in LO automatically …?
Alternatively, maybe you could use the report tool in SU to extract room areas and reference the table in LO…?
[/quote]
"

Labels don’t carry across from SKP or have any real interop between settings, reporting, etc. I think they should. Sometimes it’s best to label within SU, other times in LO. We dont have perfect tools within either so often a mix of the two is needed. I’m not an expert on LO labelling (I try to avoid it as it’s too slow and repetitive) but there definitely seems to be some lacking (basic) functionality for what is supposed to be a professional CAD documentation application.

Often we want the labels to automatically populate based on our selection of objects or faces. Examples include:

• Material names
  • Height above Datum
  • Gradients on slopes (eg roofs or driveways)
  • Plot numbers and areas
  • Room sizes and names
  • Item number (“instance name”) for landscape plans, electrical plans, etc.

Current practise is to create technical labels within SketchUp (often using an extension or some type of manual process). Unfortunately the result when opened in LO is poor (text is rasterised, not oriented to page orientation, inconsistent scale, etc).

(afaik) LayOut’s lable tool can display the following information:

• Component Definition
  • Face Area
  • Volume (of a Group or component)
    Are there more?? Anyway, it’s a very limited set.

These default data types generally work okay, but there are a few oddities, eg the Volume tool will report “0” if the object is not a solid. That doesn’t seem right.

So…My request has three parts.
More data types need to be added to layout’s label functionality.

• Height (z value above model origin; important for RLs/Spot heights