Panoramic texture map

Okay, I’m still fairly new to Sketchup but I’m trying to setup a large panoramic backdrop that surrounds my (architectural) model. I’ve got a lovely high-resolution 360degree panoramic image (Here - Dropbox - Error ) and I want to map that on the inner surface of a sphere. (Actually a sphere with top&bottom cutoff - I believe the vertical field-of-view should be about 50degrees).

And now I’m stuck. I’m accustomed to 3D packages where this sort of thing would be a no-brainer so I’m realizing that Sketchup just thinks very differently than I’m used to. Anybody out there want to help a noob out and talk me through this?

You need to do a spherical projection.

Check out YouTube.

Ah, that’s useful! After much experimentation with it I’ve stumbled on (seriously - I doubt I could repeat it :smile:) something that sort of looks like what I want. Main issue is I can’t seem to figure out how to better adjust the mapping on the surface (i.e. fine-tuning things so the right edge of the texture meets up exactly with the left edge). Any hints?

I’m surprised at how little info there is on the web for this - there’s the video for doing a cylindrical projection that another poster mentions but cylindrical projection isn’t technically correct for this scenario. I guess if I get to where I can understand it well enough to repeat it I’ll have to throw one up myself. Or, if someone else is feeling generous, I’d sure love to WATCH such a video!

Alternatively, it wouldn’t suck if there was a downloadable model out there that comes pre-textured and instructions on how to easily sub in a different texture.

Hope I’m not sounding like a complainer - just trying to figure it all out!

The script is indeed very basic (you cannot easily adjust texture orientation except by rotating the textured object). If you are dealing with half a sphere (a dome), ‘dumb’ spherical projection does not give the desired result.

There are more powerful extensions: