Orienting components for cut sheet

Hello,

I have never used cadd software before. I downloaded a drawing for a tripod made of 1/2 thick material, drawn in Sketchup. I downloaded Sketchup make to view and print the cut sheet. The drawing was of the completed tripod. At first I drew the 1/2 inch plywood sheet and tried to copy and move the individual components to the sheet for placement and material calculation. This did not work as the parts were not oriented correctly. Some stuck through the plywood others were on their edge. I tried to rotate the components in line with my 1/2 inch sheet of material with little success. Next I went to the component list figuring that is where I can get them to apply over, position, and duplicate for the material calculation. The components in the list are oriented as they are on the completed tripod giving me the same result. I have watched several videos on you tube which did not address this. So, I figure that there is some basic function that people who use this software that performs this task. How do i orient these parts to a put them on my 4X8 sheet of 1/2 inch plywood? For that matter, I need to be able to print some of these parts to use as templates.

Thanks,
Dave Roderick

The exact steps will depend on how the tripod model was made. Perhaps you could share it?

I would most likely use the cut List extension available through the Extension Warehouse and let it give me a cut list and the layout. To get accurate numbers, the components need to be drawn correctly and if you’re going to make them out of plywood, add a “sheet word” to the component’s definition name and they’ll show up laid out on a plywood sheet.

Here is the link to the page where I downloaded the drawing. If you scroll to the bottom of the page, the download link is there. Wooden tripod | Jer's Woodshop

Thanks,
Dave Roderick

The model needs a bunch of work before it’ll make a useful cut list and layout. I could work on it later for you.