Orbit tool not working in LAYOUT

I am just learning about how to use LAYOUT in conjunction with Sketchup.

A video on YouTube showed me how I could make three copies of a model and orbit them individually within LAYOUT to show different views of the model. The YouTube author was able to accomplish this by merely depressing the scroll wheel on his three button mouse. I, however, cannot make this happen with my three button mouse.

I can easily orbit in SketchUp by clicking the orbit tool or depressing the scroll wheel but cannot replicate this in LAYOUT.

In case it matters I am attempting this with Sketchup Pro 2017 on an iMac running Yosemite 10.10.5

I did not see any shortcuts in the Preferences Dialog Box to make this happen.
Should I be looking somewhere else to enable this really cool feature?

I think you’ve got something confused. There is no Orbit tool in LayOut. LayOut is a 2D application and as such, Orbit makes no sense. You can double click on a viewport and orbit SketchUp’s camera with the center mouse button but that creates issues down the line. You’re better off making adjustments in SketchUp and saving them in scenes to use in LayOut.

If you double click in a SketchUp viewport in LO to adjust the SketchUp camera position you will disconnect the viewport from its original SketchUp scene. Although this can be done, it means that any scene specific changes you might make in the SketchUp file will not show in the viewport in LayOut. This defeats one of the key benefits of using LayOut with SketchUp and that is the dynamic link from SU to LO.

Thanks Dave,

Well you cleared up a couple of things for me.
Was not aware of what happens when you double click a view in LO.

Other than disconnecting dynamic link between SU & LO what are the other downsides to rotating within LO?

As I type those words my brain is suddenly understanding why I would want the dynamic link.