Noob help - 3D printing a sketchup model

Hi there!

First post and hope you guys can help me out. I’m a relative noob trying to create a file that can be printed on a 3D printer - I used the Solid Inspector 2 to determine if there were any issues and came up with “3 surface borders and 1659 internal face edges”. I’ve attached the file below in .skp format. Can any of you suggest what I should do next? I’d really appreciate any help! Thank you! L

Final Spikes Draft 17 - triple complete.skp (2.2 MB)

To start with, the cones are all inside out as evidenced by the blue faces. The cones have no thickness so they wouldn’t be printable. You need to give them thickness. How thick are you expecting the walls of the cones to be?

Here I’ve taken a stab at the wall thickness of the cones at 1.5 mm thick assuming they are supposed to be open on the bottom.

Notice that the blue back faces are on on the inside where they belong.

One way to model this would be to make individual cone cells as components that are solid. Then you can make an array of the cones and combine them with the Outer Shell tool. I made a quick array of just the largest cones to start.

Then I selected the components I wanted to replace with the smallest cones, found the smallest cone component in the In Model Components, right clicked on it and chose Replace Selected.
Screenshot%20-%205_15_2019%20%2C%2010_08_51%20PM
Then I did the same thing for the middle sized cones.

After Outer Shell and extending the base a bit with Push/Pull
Screenshot%20-%205_15_2019%20%2C%2010_12_04%20PM

Final detailing and copying to make the other three sections which makes a solid component.

There’s a single section of it in the foreground which is also a solid.

(Edit: My reply below was based on @DaveR’s initial, 1 paragraph reply before he edited it adding a LOT more detail!)

To continue where @DaveR left off …