No materials files in Sketchup Make 2016

I’ve been using Make to produce prototypes since 2016, but have only needed the untextured, uncolored STL results. However, recently I started working on a model to be 3D printed and selected a material for the exterior walls. The sample in the editor looked fine, but when I applied the material with the paint tool all that was shown was the color - no texture.

The editor gives a name for a texture image file, for which I searched through my system’s files. It doesn’t exist. I then went into the program’s files, found the materials folder in which there were all the subfolders listed in the editor. I opened several of these folders, including the one from which I selected my material. ALL the folders I opened were empty - there were no files.

Is there anyway I can download all the naterials together for Sketchup?

Thanks.

What is the file path you are trying to follow? Are You looking in Program Files?

Sketchup Make is not Sketchup Free, Sketchup Free is the Name of the Web based version of the software, which is why I move this out of the Sketchup Free subcategory. Please don’t move it back again.

It sounds to me like you have the Face Style set to Shaded, not Shaded with Textures. Try Shaded with Textures.

Another common reason for this sort of thing is that the model is at a much larger scale than is appropriate to the texture. Zoom in very close to the model. Can you see the texture then? If so, you need to resize the model so it is correctly scaled.

“C:/programs/sketchup/sketchup make 2016/materials” and then the subfolders

1. Face style is set to shaded with textures.
  2. How can a model that is 200mm X 100mm X 20mm be too large?

You didn’t provide any of that information in your original post. I gave you two common reasons why textures appear to be just colors. Upload the SKP file so we can look at it and we won’t have to guess.

So, if you are moving this topic, where are you moving it to?