Need to change parameters by ticking boxes on page in model

I’m new to SketchUp so I don’t yet know it’s more sophisticated capabilities. I searched quite a bit about spreadsheets and Excel, etc., and couldn’t find what I’m looking info on. Maybe I don’t know what to ask for.

I have some kitchen cabinets. They come in about 8 colors and have options like toe-kicks and different marble tops.

What I’d like to do is put a chart in the file that stands beside the cabinets. It would have ‘tic boxes’ for each variation the user could choose. If they tic the ‘Toe-kick’ box, the layer or tag for them is turned on in the model.

I’m looking for a very simple way for users to drive the variations without having to know to go to ‘Outliner’ and tick the eyeballs, etc. This is something that is doable in Unreal Engine and is very handy, but Sketchup is not as full featured as UE.

But, maybe it is possible with some coding. Is it?

SketchUp has Live Components. Go to this page, click Configure, and try the many settings on the left:

https://3dwarehouse.sketchup.com/model/a99f086a-29db-4ab9-8b8f-fcc25b774737/Outdoor-Kitchen-Cabinet

Would that approach do for your cabinets?

Colin, thanks for the fast response. That in fact would work nicely for me. I actually wanted that configuration panel to be an image standing next to the cabinet in the viewport, but that may not be possible.

The reason I wanted it to be in the viewport is so it would travel with the downloaded file. I think the Live Components only works when it’s being configured in the Warehouse and is connected online. Am I making the correct assumption there?

So, yes, the Live Components functionality will work for me. Now that I know about this functionality and its name, I’ll go search and learn how to configure it.

Thank you very much…