Need help positioning linear actuators to a bi-fold window shutter model

Hi,

I am trying to design sturdy tornado window covers for my home. They will be made out of 1-1/2" square tubing, and have a sheet metal steel face with a design cut into them with a CNC plasma table. A horizontal hinge in the center will allow the shields to fold up when not in use, and create a sun shade over the window. I want to use electric linear actuators to raise and lower them, so they LOCK in the lowered position, to also act as intrusion guards while I am out of town.

I created the guards, and I am an amateur at SketchUp, but I am LOST when it comes to the geometry of moving objects. So I am looking for someone who can show me how to attach the actuator and motor at the top, and retract the cover, with the top and bottom corners of the cover remaining on a single vertical plane. The top would be a hinge, and the bottom would be wheels that follow a vertical metal channel along both sides of the window frame. They would fold as “>”

The actuators are 4.77" + stroke+ stroke. So with a 16" stroke, they are 20.77" closed, and 36.77" extended. The window frames are 70" high. I could use shorter actuators if necessary. They are quite strong and there will be two on each window cover.

I saved the file as 42134 WINDOW SHUTTER. I don’t know if you can access the file which was created online.

I will check back soon to look for replies.

Joe

It would help to tell us more. Are you trying to create an animated SketchUp model? Or do you just want to position the actuators where they belong on the window frame? It would also help f you could share the model you’ve made so far; I think you’ll need to download the file to your computer and then upload it here on the forum.

2 Likes

Hi,