Modeling Helix Wrapped Flexible Tubing

Ok. First post here, so be gentle…

Not new to SU, but being a very self-reliant and self taught kind of guy, I just haven’t reached out to forums like this for help. I humbly bow my head now, and say “uncle’”…

Trying to model a section of flexible tubing (shown below), in this case the type used for dust collection in my wood shop. I’ve scoured YT, watched Aaron’s YT tutorials on helix’s and the like, found a bunch of extensions that make great helix’s and/or tubes (but nothing that I could use), looked through this forum (which brought up a similar question back in '15, but didn’t answer my need), yada, yada. Nothing that I found useful. The other thing that I would like to do is to mimic the way that the material in-between the helix looks, where a side view might resemble scalloping.

I’m just looking for a best practice to model this. Since this is “flexible” tubing, straight shots stretches from point A to point B are not likely, so I would think I would need to create a center path and build around it. but that’s just what I’m thinking at this point.

Thanks for making this far into this post!

Tim

1 Like

I would make a smooth tube and use a texture.

That’s a thought…

I agree with Anssi that a texture would be the better approach but if you really must create all that geometry, you could use an old plugin called Helix Along Curve to do it. Just be aware it can quickly create enough geometry to bring SketchUp to its knees.

1 Like

you could also use a “screw”-like creation technique (many on youtube) to make it realistic without texture, but as @DaveR points out the geometry will increase rapidly so maybe only use it when needed in a detail drawing.

Thanks Dave. The extensive geometry did cross my mind. Helix Along Curve was one of the extensions that I had looked at, too. All in all, I think that the texture idea that Anssi brought up (and you corroborated here) may the better way to go.