Layout Crashing all the time

Hello:

I am new to SketchUp and Layout, did all the training and I am feeling confident with my knowledge to do some SketchUp and Layout work but I am running into a wall with LayOut with my first real life project, I had no problem at all while doing all the Trimble training but now LayOut is crashing constantly with this project. Might there be an issue with files downloaded from 3D warehouse? I don’t have a lot, but since I am new don’t even know where to start troubleshooting. My file has almost 2 million edges, it’s a simple kitchen with some sections and stools, tables, appliances, etc.

Using an Apple Studio N2 Max
64GB Memory
Sonoma 14.2.1
SketUp Pro 2023 23.1.341
LayOut 2023 23.1.341

Thanks!

Is it crashing or are you just getting the Not Responding message?

Absolutely likely.

That’s crazy but typical when using excessively detailed components from the 3D Warehouse. You are giving LayOut a ton of work to do. Without seeing the LayOut file it’s hard to say exactly but my guess is your model can be reduced and simplified a great deal and that will help performance in both SketchUp and LayOut.

Thanks Dave,

I am trying to simplify the project, to see if it helps, I still get a lot of errors in layout, I guess hiding the upbeat in Sketch up won’t help and I need to remove them and purge. Is that the case?

Thanks!

What’s “the upbeat”?

You should purge unused content but most likely you also need to simplify the other components and probably reduce the file size. If you share the .skp file we can give you more specific guidance.

Sorry, that was a typo. I meant hiding the 3D warehouse model.

I can’t upload the file because is larger than 16 MB.

Upload to Drop Box and share the link