Issue with passing arguments

Hello,
I am new to the Ruby API for sketchup and am having an issue with passing arguments to a ruby tool I have created. The intent is to build a set of typing savers or quick commands to use via the ruby console.

I created a move command ‘m’ that is defined by the following code: (The various ‘puts’ lines are me trying to figure out what’s going on)

# /Rubies/bst.rb  -- temporary test file

require 'sketchup'
puts( 'Loading Brad''s bst' ) #test msg
load File.dirname( __FILE__ )+'/bst_classes.rb'
puts( 'Brad''s bst loaded') #test msg
<   a bunch of other command function defs.   >
def m (*args)
    #Invoke with "m comp_name, [r,g,b], repeat_count <,optional>"
	# example "m test, [10,10,30], 10"
	puts '# of args ' +args.length.to_s
	puts 'args[0] is ' +args[0]
	puts 'args[1] is ' +args[1].to_s
	puts 'Sketchup ComponentInstance is ' +args[0]
	puts 'Sketchup::ComponentInstance is ' +args[0].is_a?(
	unless ( args.length > 0 ) && ( args[0].is_a?(Sketchup::ComponentInstance) )
		UI.messagebox( "First argument of \"m()\" must be a Sketchup::ComponentInstance.\n" +
            'Use "xm()" to translate by r, g, b values.') 
        return
    end

case args.length
        when 2 then move( args ) # static move
        when 3 then movie( args ) # animated move
        when 1 then xmove( args[0] )
        else UI.messagebox( 'm args must be: ( transformation ) or ( comp, vec ) or ( comp, vec, ntimes ).' )
    end
end # of m()

< more commands

The code is part of an .rb file my tools are in. the file is loaded via the Ruby console with “load ‘c:/rubies/bst.rb’” , again without the quotes.

First, in SketchUp 2017 (Make), I draw a rectangle, pushpull it, make it a component called test and select it. I would then type “m ‘test’, [10,10,10]” to provide the component name, and a move vector.