I need help on the free web version

This is my first time using a 3D editing software. I build model jets that I fly and I wanted to try designing one on here. Once I make a model that I like, is there a way to lay the model out flat and print it all on paper so that I can tape the paper to a material and cut it out to the right size? Ive created a full 3d model of a J10 fighter jet and I just want to lay all of the outer surface area of the jet out flat to print it.

I did my best to describe this, but a useful source that may help some understand my question is a site called -flite test- they sell boards of precut foam and you just punch the pieces out and glue them together to make the plane. That is what I want to do.

Hi,

I don’t use the Web version, so I’m not sure what the toolset options are for you.

If you look behind the tape measure icon… you can find the Section Plane tool. This is a great way to create a section cut through your model from any angle and position you could come up with. In the Pro version of SU you can run a command called ‘Create Group from Slices’… and that will in turn generate a set of contour lines that match the angle and position of your section plane.

However, I can’t confirm if the Web version has this option, or if it goes by another name… but it would be my favorite goto tool for this sort of thing.

Absent of this option, you can get the same results manually, by positioning a rectangular plane (no pun intended) onto the model and running the command intersect faces.

Either way, the results should give you a nice set of contour lines that can be used as a cutting path for various machining options… BUT you’ll need to make sure that the file formats match the process you are wanting to use. and that should be pretty easy to figure out.