I must be doing something horribly wrong

This is my first time trying to use SketchUp and I spent 4 hours making a very simple drawing that I could have done on paper in under a minute. I can’t believe that everyone finds it this impossible to use so I must be doing something horribly wrong.

I want to make a scale drawing for a woodworking project. After drawing each piece of wood it is almost impossible to get them attached to each other. It looks lined up until you rotate the drawing, then you realize that there is a gap.

I watched some tutorials and discovered that turning everything into a component allows them to glue together, but sometimes it works and other times the component randomly flips into various orientations when I get it close to where I want it, so I can only glue it sticking up.

This looks like it should be a great tool, I think I’m just missing something very important about how to use it.

in 3D space positions are deceptive, you might need to orbit to see where stuff actually is. To align use the move tool and grab the item by a specific point that can be “snapped” to another point on the target object.

1 Like

It is very common when first starting SketchUp (or any complex software) to not fully understand how that software works and so be inefficient at best and totally confused at worst. You must learn to drive the car before you can take it out on the road without crashing. Have you checked out the tutorial available at the SketchUp Campus? The Icons look different in the tutorials as it is focused on the pro version interface but they all do the same things as the web version you are using.

There is no scale in SketchUp. Everything is modeled at true real world dimensions. A 3’ table is 3’ tall.