I checked under my model and found wholes in my walls and uneven surfaces. Help how do I solve this?

Hi,
I’m a new sketchup user. I’m modeling my first house but ran into a problem when trying to push a wall. I looked under my model and found hallow walls and uneven surfaces. How do I solve this?
MBL - Casa Smith - help.skp (1007.8 KB)

If you spend some time at The Learning Center, you will learn how to use the tools to get what you want. (interactive tutorials) Also, go to The SketchUp YouTube Channel and pay attention to the Square One series. Both are sponsored by the SketchUp Crew and well worth the time spent there.

1 Like

Thank you for your response. I understand how to use the tools but I don’t understand how this happened under my model. The hallow walls and uneven surfaces.

I’m just a novice myself, but this same thing happens to me when I used to push/pull from one giant flat sheet… which, looking at the texture/material on the tops of the walls, I suspect that you did. :wink: I’m sure someone here can explain exactly what went on, but until then… It looks like you may have push/pulled each part several times, creating several different under-heights.

You’re using groups sparingly and in strange ways, which is not a ‘bad’ thing, but also not helpful. I would group the walls entirely and not just the caps. Also, make the ‘ground’ a different group so that it’s not sticky and give it some depth so that it has a chance to fill in and become solid. This might be a bandaid (not sure) but if you’re not looking to 3D print it, it’s not the end of the world.

You’ve obviously put a lot of work into this, it shows. :smile: but there’s some cleanup that would help you.

Here’s what I said above (in regards to giving the floor some depth) applied to your file.
MBL - Casa Smith - help.skp (914.6 KB)

Here,
MBL - Casa Smith - help.skp (826.2 KB)