I am trying to discover if models can be modified to suit my particular 3D print needs. IE redraw a model to meet a specific shape and size

I am new to CAD and 3D printing. I need to be able to download models and alter their basic shape. IE I have a friend with a severe bunion on her right foot. I would like to be able to alter a model of a shoe to accommodate the bunion. I would also like to be able to alter a shoe for width and length specific to the person I am building for. I downloaded SketchUp a month ago but have not been able to use it because I am still learning how to use the printer --leveling and adhesion for example. I am almost there but need guidance for the first two questions.

Hi,

Shapes can be altered. And the short answer is that you’ll typically do so with the ‘Scale’, or ‘Move’ tools.

If you post up the model which you want to work with, then I’m sure some useful input will start to flow in.

Scaling is straight forward, but in doing so everything scales along the chosen scale direction (/axis)… So wall thicknesses for example, might increase in one direction, but not necessarily in another – causing potential issues if you needed them all uniform. differences will be minor in small percentages, so changes might be fairly simple.

The Move tool can re-position things without resizing them as the scale tool does. . . but of course the Move tool comes with it’s own set of distortions which vary depending upon the distance of the move, and the shapes involved.

A Shoe is fairly complicated, and it might take a bit of finesse to modify. But it depends on a lot of variables. So posting up a model, and then commenting on what changes are needed is the best approach to take.