How to Polyline

Is there a way or even a plug in that creates polylines like in autocad? I mean those lines that never disconnect themselves like the lines we create with the skp pencil does?

Because Iam having a headache trying to make the cover of this roof…the easier way I think is to create something like the polylines and closing it

please help :pray: :pray:

1 Like

I’m sorry but your description doesn’t make much sense to me and your image isn’t helping.
Could you somehow show us what you are wanting to create.
Perhaps add your model as well.

1 Like

I want to create connected lines so they create a face

but with the traditional pencil line from skp they keep getting disconnected because they are not in the same level

Make a big rectangle and cut out the bits you don’t want.

it would be easier with some polyline plug in, but there isnt such a thing yet…wish I was a programmer.

I’m sure there is an easy way to do what you want, problem is I still don’t understand what it is that you want.
So I’ll bow out.

1 Like

So draw lines so they are on the same plane. They can’t make a face if they don’t outline a flat surface.

Whether lines are connected or not doesn’t matter as far as making a face is concerned, but if they are separated segments and you push pull the face you make, then you see the edges where the line segments touched.

You can get around that by selecting the line segments, right-clicking, and choose Weld Edges. Then all of the line segments select with one click anywhere.

The freehand tool has a modifier key. If you hold down the Shift key the line is drawn as a polyline. I’m unclear what use it has in SketchUp, but maybe it exports to DWG as a special kind of line.

2 Likes

Somewhat unrelated, but to the point of polylines in export being made here: