How to move a pulled geometry

Hi, I’m a newbie and really like SketchUp!
I’m having difficulty positioning an object I pulled up that you see in Offset ledge #1. I created a 8mm ledge that I must move 4mm up the adjacent wall. The pieces on other side of the model are all at the same flat level. Once I move the ledge up, there would be a 4mm depression on the other side where the ledge is. I’ve been trying for a few hours now and haven’t been able to do it. Does anyone have some ideas about how to accomplish this?
Thx! Pierre

Offset ledge #1

no you’re on the right path, if I understand correctly.

the first step would be, indeed, to make the ledge 4mm thicker. pull and hop !
the second step would be to go look under the guitar, and push the ledge 4mm inside the guitar’s body.
you might need to re-offset the ledge’s contour (because right now it’ll push everything)

if you share your file, I (or anyone else) can show you a step by step. or wait 5 min so I can draw a similar situation :wink:

ok, so let’s say this is a guitar. like yours.

first, i grab the ledge and pull it 4mm. now it’s 4mm too thick, and it still touches the ground.

then I pivot and look at the bottom. on the bottom, I’ll offset the hole (pre-selecting the hole’s contour helps) so it matches the ledge’s width.

then I can push this time, 4mm up.

as a result, the ledge “moved” 4mm up. and now it’s even easier to adjust up and down, or even make thinner or thicker. just push on side, and pull the other side :slight_smile:

3 Likes

If I understand what you need, the simplest approach might be to use pushpull to move the top surface of the ledge up 4mm, then orbit to look at the bottom surface and pushpull it up 4mm as well.

Edit: @ateliernab posted nice pictures of exactly the same process while I was typing.

2 Likes

Thx!..I’ll go back and give it a try.

Pierre