How to draw and move parts of a drawing independently from the main drawing

modeling

I’m a woodworker learning SketchUp Make to properly plan my furniture designs and produce cut lists (list of the furniture parts with dimensions). How can I draw several parts of a piece of furniture, separate from the main drawing of the furniture piece, join these separate parts to each other, and then place these joined pieces in their proper location onto the main furniture drawing? For example, I have a table designed on SketchUp, and now I want to add the drawer slides to the drawing. The drawer slides consist of a lower and an upper set of slides–two parts to each of the lower, and two parts to the each of the upper slides. I need to be able to rotate the individual separate parts horizontally ( maybe vertically as well), and independently from the drawing of the furniture piece. I know i can draw the individual pieces and join them to the main furniture piece. I just thought SketchUp Make would allow drawing of these parts separate from the main drawing, and them to place them accordingly in the main drawing. Suggestions or guidance will be greatly appreciated.

Make each separate part of the table a group and you will be able to move each freely without altering any geometry.

Research how to use Components and Groups in SketchUp.

While you can draw the parts separately and assemble them to create the completed model, it isn’t very efficient to work that way. It requires that you know and enter more dimensions than you really need and it’s more prone to induced errors.