How do you unlink components

I have a component that I duplicated by copying and pasting.
I was not aware that the copied component is still linked to the original.
How do I unlink or ungroup a component?

Thanks!

Mark

Right-click > Make Unique will keep it as a Component. Right-click > Explode will not.

Outstanding!!!

Thanks Jim.

Mark

Nearly 2 years later, in Win version of 2017 Pro, having same problem. “Make Unique” not avaialble.

Upload the SKP file so we can see what you’ve got.

Complete Sketchup newbie here. How/Where do I upload a file? I know how to create files and copies though.

7th button from the left in the row above the message window.
Screenshot - 10_29_2017 , 12_13_27 PM

CompufoxUpload.skp (96.0 KB)

OK. Thanks for your prompt help, BTW.

OK. Got the file. What are you trying to make unique?

The part in question is the lone panel. It was copied from the group at the end of the “box” construction. I am using it as a style template to create drawer fronts of matching design/construction.

Your model is not constructed correctly. You can make the entire frame and panel assembly unique because it is an instance of a component. Just right click on it and choose Make Unique. But since you are using groups for the parts of the assembly, Make Unique is not an option and wouldn’t make sense if it was there.

OK. That worked. I do not get the gist of “not constructed properly”, however, I am supposed to get formal classroom training in this fairly soon. Hope it covers some of this. Thank you.

I hope so, too.

For a model like yours, using groups for the base level parts is inefficient. It wakes your work more difficult and time consuming. Use components instead. I’m reworking your model to make it correct. I’ll upload it shortly.

You’re also leaving some elements such as the panels in the frames as loose geometry. This is also problematic.