How do I make angles not distort when scaling in my DC?

I’ve been using sketchup for a few years but I just now have started dabbling in dynamic components. This is my first one, I have been able to figure out how to do most of it, but I can’t figure out how to make the angles behave properly when I change the size of the component. I need to keep the 40 degree angle on the Rafter beams when I change the width and height of the frame.

Really what I would like to do is to hire someone to turn my components into dynamic components. I don’t really have time to learn how to do this. Anybody think they can handle that job for me? Dynamic Gable Bent.skp (1.5 MB)

I can’t help you with the dynamic component work, but I think your encountering skewing, when you scale non-uniformly. Consider the ungrouped overlapping faces below (which kind a look like carpenter squares):

In the next image, I use the scale tool on each of the models, doubling the scale factor in the X direction only.

In the right image, you can see that parallel lines remain parallel, but the right angle between the two rectangles has been lost.

The easy solution is to scale the same in all directions.

Thank you for your response Bruce.

Are you saying that if I scale 1.5 in the x direction, that I should also scale 1.5 in the z to maintain the correct angle?

Problem is that I need to be able to scale in just one direction without a distortion of the angle.

You will have to split the Post into 2 parts. The bottom will be a “normal” post (no angles other than 90°). The top will be the wedge-shaped part with constraints. Something like the attached, although I didn’t bother with the formulas.

Post-P1_2.skp (18.4 KB)