Help Requested

Hello,

I’m new to sketchup and lately I’ve been working a little with dynamic components. I want to scale a curved bar in such a way that the offset remains the same and it doesn’t get stretched and I’m struggling to do so. Is it possible to do this and if so what’s the correct way to approach this? I’ve attached 2 pictures of the situation. it’s a curved bar of 120;80 and I would like to be able to scale it in the X and Y plane but if I scale the component by size this stretches the bar. If someone could help me out that would be awesome, thanks in advance

Greetings,Bar.skp (103.6 KB)

If I’m understanding what you want to do, then I’m afraid what you want isn’t possible using Dynamic Components (DCs).

Within Dynamic Components, you can fairly easily prevent single parts from scaling - but only in the directions available through the Scale Tool. And the Scale Tool doesn’t scale in the radial direction you need, so you can’t restrict it in DCs.

With DCs, you can also build a component consisting of sub-components which you can prevent from scaling by fixing it’s size in the LenX, LenY, or LenZ attributes. But, again, that’s not what you need.

While I would like to offer you a solution to your problem, it most likely involves Ruby programming, done either by yourself or by finding an extension that already does what you need. Such an extension may exist. If so, I’m sure others will chime in with suggestions. As I haven’t needed this, I’m not familiar with any extensions that might provide this.

Not sure exactly what you mean? and there’s only one picture here, maybe the other holds the missing link?