How do I create a disk with a wavy top

I’m still new to Sketchup, so I need some help from someone more experienced. What I want to do is to create a disk 60 mm in diameter and 15 mm thick. That part is easy. What I then want is to make one of the surfaces wavy. Imagine dividing the disk surface into 4 quadrants and imposing a sine wave on it such that there is a peak every 90 degrees. I want to height from valley to peak to be 5 mm.

Why do I want this part? I am working on an idea to make a cam system. I will attach the disk to a vertically mounted DC motor. A vertically mounted rod with a tiny wheel would be above the disk and it would go up and down following the wavy surface of the disk. Think of a piston rod riding a camshaft in a car engine.

Ideally, someone can send me a file I can import into Sketchup or a tutorial on how I can do this.

Thank you.

@Gully_Foyle demonstrated this back in the (now lost) previous iteration of the Help Form.

Thanks. The question is how to apply it to a circular disk so that the top surface is a sine wave.

How about this:

-Gully

Edit–Gosh, Geo, I had forgotten about that older one. @OttawaMaker, to see how that one works (it’s a bit different from this one), you have to download the model from the 3DWH. -G

1 Like

Wow. Now we’re talking. Since I already have pulleys like the one shown below and they mount to motors perfectly, I would stack the wavy cam disk on top of the pulley and either bolt them together with 4-40 hardware or glue them.

Notice that the difference between the one for which @Geo gave a link and the one I have depicted here is that in the first one all the radial elements are horizontal (perpendicular to the axis), while in this one the radial elements all converge on the center of the disk. Obviously, it’s up to you which best suits your application, which is still not entirely clear.

-Gully

just messing around (or maybe jumpstarting someone else to go further with this :wink: )