Help with fixing/reversing/deleting normals on the inside of 3D models

So I’m new to SketchUp and I’m also learning other CAD programs like Blender and Mesh Mixer.

When I import an .SKP models from 3DWarehouse and I try to fix the reversed normals on the inside and nothing seams to work.

To date I’ve tried using addons like Fedo Tools, Fix-It 101, Ithil_facefinde_reverseface_v1.0 and thus far nothing seams to work even though the addons say that they fixed hundreds of normals nothing actually changes.

Is there a native method in SketchUp to switch ALL the reversed normals to outside facing? Could it be something simple that I’m missing like exporting vs saving the file?

I attached an .SKP file for you to look at.
Thanks in advance for any help

mercedes+300+slr+ulenhaut+coup_Open.skp (2.1 MB)

The model you attached appears to have all the faces correctly orientated.

Thanks for the reply. I realize this is a SketchUp forum, but after exporting the repaired file as an .STL then loading it in Blender the face orientation setting shows that the faces on the interior of the model are shaded in RED which means they’re inside facing?

There are still a few holes in your blue surface[s] - these need healing…
But the main issue is that your object consists of one ‘surface’, so it can’t ever be a solid, because the faces forming that surface will always have a visible back [red] side: and of course it has ‘edges’ with only one face associated with them, so it’s never going to be manifold without work…
If your aim is to make a 3d-print of it you need the ‘extrude’ the surface[s] into a 3d-solid.
There are extensions to help in this - like JointPushPull by Fredo, but the effort required to fix this completely will be considerable !

3 Likes