[Selection Toys] Trying to Reverse Inside Faces

@thomthom Hey there, I’m very new to Sketchup, about two hours old. I’m trying to print a 3D model of a ring I initially modelled using Rhino. During the stl export it has saved both inside and outside faces. So I downloaded Selection Toys as I noticed in the extension warehouse notes that you can ‘select faces in same direction’, I was hoping to use this and then reverse faces. However I can’t find ‘select faces in same direction’ on either the toolbar or within the the settings. Please help, thanks

Are all your faces reversed? Or only a few of the (solid?) model faces?
More hints after a screenshot or the model…

You should be able to right click, then use Select Only and Back Default Materials

Thanks @TheOnlyAaron but that doesn’t seem to select anything :sob:

As you can see from the image it’s a total mess. Not only are there inside and outside faces but I’ve noticed there are quite a few doubled faces as well

A gentle hint for the future: use a screen capture to create your images, don’t take a picture of the screen with your phone. Digital photos of computer screens tend to show horrible moire effects such as visible in your upload. They make it hard to see the details. Thanks!

Since your goal is 3D printing, I would try to make a solid model, after that, the correction of the faces orientation will be a one click step.

Sorry @slbaumgartner I’m working from many different devices and some of them don’t belong to me so they have access locks etc on them. But here’s a screen grab for you

Have you thought about redrawing it? It looks symmetrical and you only need to draw 1/6 of it…

After 10 seconds of drawing I have to reduce the needed part to 1/12 :wink:

What software was used to create this? It looks as if it would be way simpler if it had been created in SketchUp from scratch.

Anssi