Help ungrouping or unmerging (I'm not sure what happened)

I’m not sure how but I either grouped a bunch of components or merged them and now I can’t seem to undo: stephanie-filing-cabinet.skp (365.6 KB)

I’m still learning so very possible I did something without realizing. The ‘outer-shell’ group is the one in question. I did have the main box grouped but somehow the facing also got in there and now I can’t ungroup. I need all the sides of the box and face pieces back to components. Please help!!1

Thanks,

Mike

It looks like you’ve exploded the components that make up the case. Fortunately you used components for at least some of them (I haven’t hunted through the entire components list for all of them yet. So you can go to the In Model Components and drag out new instances of them. One of the many benefits of using components over groups.

It does look like you did some detailing after exploding the components so those details won’t be included in the components.

Which version of SketchUp are you using? Your profile is confusing.

Thanks! I’ll give it a go. I did do a bunch of trimming to get mitered corners - maybe that’s the detailing?

I am using the paid web version while I wait for a windows desktop to arrive. I’m a linux user really so I had to get something just to run sketchup desktop (found reasonable refurb on ebay and bought graphics card to add on)

1 Like

Looks to me like some housekeeping would be in order. In the Components collection there are several that (at least based on their thumbnails) seem to have as many as 9 indistinguishable versions with names like tempinstance#25 and no instances in the model. I don’t know your workflow, but that leads me to suspect you are doing lot of unnecessary work. Certainly your naming practices are making your work harder.

1 Like

Steve’s right about the housekeeping. Lots of unused stuff.
Screenshot - 11_25_2020 , 9_31_33 AM