Help needed for Rendering Partial walls in Sketchup 2020

Hi,
I am very new to SketchUp. I just finished my first self-learning Project and having issues with rendering. I need to render only partial walls.

I have rendered it with IRenderNxt extension. And uploading an example of what I need
A9R6hb5a8_ex2iuh_208

I need to show partial walls allover and full walls at the back. I stuck with this and can’t find a solution. Please Help.
Thanks,
Priya

This is what I have created starter

1 Like

I’ve watched now this tutorial:

Did you create the section you need?
To have the desired configuration, the back wall will have to be in a separate group, and the section will be created inside the group with the rest of the walls

2 Likes

@mihai.s Yes I did the section cuts but when I render it the walls appear in the rendering. :frowning: . Is there something I need to do while rendering or is there a better rendering extension I can use.

Did you watch the video tutorial?
at min 2:11 - Setup Options > Use Section Planes

@mihai.s Nice !!! Thankyou, That works and solves my problems.
Thanks Again.
Priya

1 Like

@mihai.s There is one issue though. The section cuts inside of a group or Component while rendering in IRender does not pick it up. It still renders the walls. but If I put it outside it cuts through the model but things I don’t need to be cut get cut. Do you know a workaround ?

I’m not using IRenderNxt extension, I just gave you the link to the tutorial. A possible workaround would probably be to section the walls and remove the top.

Because you asked about another possible extension, in V-ray it’s very simple to achieve what you want

2 Likes

@mihai.s cool I’ll try it with V-ray .

Thankyou .

@mihai.s I’m trying with the trial version of V-Ray but a lot of options are locked :frowning: . I’ll have to buy it .

Did you follow all the instructions, including activation?
https://docs.chaosgroup.com/display/VNFS/Trial+Installation+of+V-Ray+for+SketchUp