Guide line potential?

I would like the ability to locate a line that I have plotted and revert it to a guide line. This would include circles and arcs.
Components that I have tried to design have snapped to a surface or edge and when trying to remove the surface/edge I have had issues with my wanted line being deleted.
I admit I am new to SketchUp and still have a lot to learn.

My guess is that there is a way to do what you are trying to do without needing to add a feature that doesn’t exist yet. How about sharing a SketchUp file so we can see what you’ve got going on.

Your probably right in that I need to learn and practice more, I have only been using the software a few weeks. The model I was drawing needed the body to scale a component. Separating component retrospectively I have been having difficulty with but I shall struggle on.

No need to struggle. Share the file so we can help.

I would share the file if you can supply copyright or patent. Intellectual property is a thing right ?

I don’t see why the date design and my traceability would not grant automatic copyright but that is another issue that I would require evidence for.

If you are concerned about sharing the file (which is understandable, if it is sensitive material), can you duplicate the issue you are seeing in a separate job?

I have a cylinder with a part that touches the surface. At the edge of the front circle and the shaft. I am having difficulties deleting the face circle to then select the rest as a component due to some of the joined tangents being deleted at the same time.

variable vane.skp (446.6 KB)
I guess I’ll not get to see this completed so here you are.

How did you do the helix? they look good to me.

I probably give you the worst possible answer but … I’d start from scratch if you’re going to work with same dimensions you maybe can save the hardest pieces, but … I would do almost everything from zero.
If you have a blueprint or a plan with the dimensions I can try to help.